Begbroke competition entries

We have received 40 wonderful entries for this competition, from intriguing teams of international, national and local players. Each team's Think Piece can be seen here....

To find out more about the brief to which competitors were responding please visit the competition webpage.

As part of the brief, competitors were asked to submit an A1 board with images and up to 500 words in response to the following:

“How can Begbroke be both global and local; a place of world changing science whilst at the same time somewhere to call home?”

Here are the boards that were submitted.

If you would like to look more closely at each entry please follow this link.


  • AHMM with Arup; Gillespies; Green Infrastructure Consultancy; Targeting Zero
  • Allies and Morrison with Mecanoo, Gort Scott; DK-CM; Hargreaves Jones; BuroHappold; Systematica; HR&A
  • Apt with Matthew Lloyd Architects; Place Design & Planning; XCO2; Expedition; Velocity Transport Planning
  • Arup with David Kohn Architects; Adam Khan Architects; Stoss Landscape Urbanism; Nigel Dunnett; Material Cultures; Places for People
  • Barton Willmore with Nicholas Hare Architects; Stantec; 3Adapt; PJA
  • BIG and Studio Weave with AKTII; Atelier Ten; BuroHappold; FutureCity; Msafe; The Townscape Consultancy
  • BDP and URBED with Steer; Human Space
  • Carlo Ratti Associati with Outcomist; Martha Schwartz Partners; Ove Arup & Partners; Studio 20-20; Groupwork Architects; Tsuruta Architects; Theatrum Mundi; Fabienne Nicholas; Mobility in Chain; Soundings; Indeed Innovation
  • CF Moller with Third Nature; Galmstrup Architects; AKT II; XC02; Studio 4215; Urban Movement; Plan A Consultants
  • Eric Parry with Child Graddon Lews; Cottrell & Vermeulen; Todd Longstaffe-Gowan; Max Fordham; AKT II; Carolyn Steel; Oxford Brooks University; Space Syntax; PRD; Ridge
  • Farrells with BuroHappold; Exterior Architecture; Office S&M; Studio SOUR
  • FCBS with 5th Studio; Architecture00; Feilden Fowles; Expedition Engineering; Atelier Ten; Momentum; Grant Associates; Biodiversity by Design
  • Gensler with CoLab Consulting Group; WSP; Ridge; PRP; Bioregional; Ecology by Design; TALA; Community First Oxfordshire; Low Carbon Hub
  • Glenn Howells Architects with Townshend Landscape Architects; Associated Architects; AKTII; WSP
  • Grimshaw with Hoare Lea; BuroHappold; Logika Consultants; McGregor Coxall; Jas Bhalla Architects; Openstudio Architects; XCO2
  • Hawkins Brown with OKRA; BuroHappold and C:Lab; RCKa; Ooze; Ecological Land Cooperative; Wordsearch Place
  • Henning Larsen with Morris+Company; West Port; Public Works; Rambøll Studio Dreiseitl; BuroHappold
  • James Corner Field Operations with Lichfields; vPPR Architects; WSP; Atelier Ten; Temple
  • Jestico & Whiles with Townshend Landscape Architects; Hoare Lea; BuroHappold
  • Jo Cowen Architects and Pilbrow & Partners with Lord Matthew Taylor; West 8; Atelier Ten; Vectos; Thornton Tomasetti; Arup; Expedition; Patrick Bellew; Space Syntax; Nigel Thompson
  • John McAslan & Partners with MVRDV; Gillespies; Arup; Mace; Savills; DP9; Pimm Studio; Pocket Living; Studio Boeri; Tate + Co; RCKa; Mole Architects; Threefold Architects; Roz Barr; Dow Jones Architects; Tikari Works; FJMT; Perkins & Will; Peris and Toral; Collective Architecture; Gianni Botsford Architects Ltd
  • KPF with Publica; Andy Sturgeon Design; Bell Phillips; AKT II; Buro Happold; Momentum Transport Consultancy
  • Levitt Bernstein with LDA Design; Stanton Williams; MICA; Knight Architects; Buro Happold; Arup; Mark Hodgson; Freehaus; Fusion Arts
  • Maccreanor Lavington with Haworth Tompkins; Herzog & de Meuron; Churchman Thornhill Finch; Useful Projects; Innovation First; HETA; Civic Engineers; Max Fordham
  • Metropolitan Workshop with Sarah Wigglesworth Architects; Studio Partington; ZCD Architects; Land Use Consultants; AECOM; Learning through Living, Elementa Consulting; Cam-Sci; Centre for Housing Policy- York University
  • OMA with Buro Happold; Planit I.E.; Shed K.M.; Groupwork; Webb Yates; PFB Construction Management Services. Advisors: Theatrum Mundi; John Lotspeich; Gustavo Sbardelotto
  • Paul Southouse Architects with Mike Habermehl; Dr Euan McTurk
  • Periscope with Kjellander Sjöberg; Henley Halebrown; Fisher Cheng; Al-Jawad Pike; Ian Firth; WSP;Urban Nature
  • Prior + Partners with The Place Bureau; Alison Brooks Architects; Wilkinson Eyre Architects; dRMM; Gillespies; Spacehub; Ramboll; Stantec; Hoare Lea; Keith Orlesky; Philipp Bouteiller; Pooran Desai; Transition by Design; Transsolar; Usman Haque; Jonathan Rose Companies
  • Proctor Matthews with Stephen Willacy Architecture + Urbanism; O'Donnell & Toumey; LOOP; Townshend Landscape Architects; Arup; Phil Jones Associates; Max Fordham, Keegans
  • Ryder with Hydrock; Fira Landscape Architects; MosArt
  • Scott Brownrigg with Ramboll; Hoare Lea; Macfarlane Associates
  • Shepheard Epstein with Ramboll; Townshend Landscape Architects; Adrian James Architects; Denizen Works; DUP; Urban Silence
  • Sheppard Robson with KCAP; Townshend Landscape Architects; BuroHappold; ORSA; Serie Architects; Studio Woodroffe Papa
  • SOM with TSH Architects; LUC; Hoare Lea
  • SOUR with Buro Happold; Balmori; Applied; Open Inclusion; Cross Works; David Staley; Sue Stuart-Smith; Quemuel Arroyo
  • Weston Williamson with BuroHappold; Steven Carden; Steer; Nex; Skanska/Boklok; Studio Engleback; Streer; Oxford Global Projects; Space Syntax; Unscene
  • White Arkitekter with Haptic; Mikhail Riches; BuroHappold; Aurora;, Integrated Transport Planning; William Matthews Associates; 2-3 Degrees
  • Woods Bagot with Mandaworks; ERA-Co; BuroHappold; Moxon Architects; Momentum Transport Consultancy; Jason Bruges Studio; Stantec
  • XDGA with Inside/Outside Landscape Design; SWECO; Neiheiser Argyros